Facebook has created a ‘tributes’ section that will be specialized for tributes, for memorialized accounts to compile posts about a loved one who has passed on.
The move will separate old posts and comments that were already on the user’s timeline from those shared after that person’s death, according to TechCrunch.
This will also give ‘legacy contacts,’ who the Facebook user assigned to take over their account, more control over content posted after the profile has been memorialized.
Facebook has begun rolling out the new Tributes section in some regions, though it hasn’t yet arrived to all users.
The feature was first spotted by TechCrunch, who reports that it is distinct from the rest of the timeline in a memorialized profile.
It’s designed to be ‘a space on memorialized profiles where friends and family can post stories, commemorate a birthday, share memories and more,’ Facebook says.
These profiles are created after Facebook has been notified of a user’s death, and can be managed afterward by a pre-determined person.
But, while they allow posts from others’ depending on the privacy settings, even the legacy contact can’t log in or read messages.
This would still be the case with the new feature, but will give legacy contacts more control over what shows up on the profile after a person’s death.
These users will be able to turn off timeline review for tribute posts, for example, or remove posts the deceased person has been tagged in.
As of now, legacy contacts can’t remove much content from a memorialized account.
According to TechCrunch, Facebook says it will do its best to ‘separate tribute posts from the timeline posts based on the info we’re given.’
Legacy contacts must be designated by the Facebook user before their death. Then, once a profile has been memorialized, this person can write pinned posts, update your profile and cover photo, or request the account be removed.
But for the most part, the memorialized profile will remain unchanged.
‘Once an account is memorialized, the content the person shared (example: photos, posts) remains on Facebook and is visible to the audience with whom it was shared,’ Facebook explains.
‘If the account holder chose a legacy contact, the legacy contact can control who can post tributes on the memorialized account and who can see those tributes.’