We have finally announced our SADC top 100 of 2019. 

Now in its fifth year, The Young Independents (TYI) 100 has been involved in searching for a 100 inspiring and aspiring young leaders from across sub-Saharan Africa who have been involved in various projects that contributed meaningfully towards the development of their communities against all odds. 

The Young Independents is an initiative by the Independent Media Group and offers trailblazers, influencers, disruptors, healers, innovators, entrepreneurs, creatives and social activists the opportunity to showcase their community contributions and efforts towards community development. 

Entries were open to young people between the ages of 18 and 35 years of age.
Mike Ntsasa, Independent Media Group’s Executive Public Sector and Founding Member of The Young Independents, says, “The winners truly represent the finest young leaders in their communities. This initiative really gives us the opportunity to celebrate African excellence and the young people who are at the forefront of reshaping their communities and the continent as a whole”.

“Through this platform we want to celebrate change-makers across SADC and support their efforts and encourage expansion of these efforts for Africa’s growth and development. We recognise that with support, these young people can expand their projects for greater impact,” said Ntsasa.

The fifth annual Young Independents – SADC Top 100 Young Leaders honoured the innovators, trailblazers, influencers, healers and disruptors whose activities in and around their communities set the standard for being acknowledged as a young leader in their community work. This year, over 100 nominees, representing 15 countries that make up the SADC region, became finalists for the awards. An independent judging committee of five experts from various sectors of society determined the ultimate winners of the awards. 

These inspiring young leaders are and will be an integral part of instrumenting change in the SADC region for many years to come. 

The winners for the 2019 SADC Top 100 Young Leaders are as follows per category, with two runners up:


Winner – Rahab Inghalwa (Namibia)
2nd – Lourena Bundi (Angola)
3rd – Carl Wastie (South Africa)
Winner – Tuilika Andreas (Namibia)
2nd – Delcio Jorge da Silva Baptista (Angola)
3rd – Katlego Maboe (South Africa)


Winner – Grace Bampile (South Africa)
2nd – Charles Lupali (Tanzania) *
3rd – Dr. Buumba Malambo (Zambia)


Winner – Angelo Louw (South Africa)
2nd – Mike Bondo (Democratic Republic of Congo)
3rd – Diana Chapoterera-Bulle (Zimbabwe)


Winner – Sho Madjozi (South Africa)
2nd – Danai Walters Nyandoroh (Zimbabwe)
3rd – Karabo Poppy Moletsane (South Africa)
Congratulations to the young people who made the winners’ list of TYI SADC TOP 100 YOUNG LEADERS 2019 for their steadfast resolve to influence positive change and inspire the next generation of youth leaders to be part of the solution to Africa’s challenges.

We also want to congratulate and recognize all the entrants for their contribution to human development in their various spheres of influence – be it the private sector, public sector or society in general.

This is testament to the truth that youth, united and working in common purpose can achieve more for our planet. Working together, young people have the wherewithal to accelerate action and provide innovative solutions to societal, political, social, economic and environmental challenges.